# INDIAN ASSOCIATION FOR THE STUDY OF POPULATION

# **Executive Committee Meeting**

11:00 AM on 06 October 2024
Using Webex Platform

# **Minutes of the Meeting**

## **Members present**

The monthly meeting of the Executive Committee was held at 11:00 AM on 06 October 2024. The following members were present.

- 1. Dr Suresh Sharma
- 2. Dr. A. G. Khan
- 3. Dr. Dilip Kumar
- 4. Dr. Anil Chandran S
- 5. Dr. Jeetendra Yadav
- 6. Dr. Rajesh K Chauhan
- 7. Dr. Emily Das
- 8. Dr. Gudakesh
- 9. Prof. Usha Ram
- 10. Dr Archana Muthye
- 11. Dr. Ajay Kumar Singh

## Agenda

- 1. Confirmation of the minutes of the EC meeting held on 01 September 2024
- 2. Arrangements for the 45<sup>th</sup> Annual Conference
- 3. Prof. KB Pathak Award
- 4. Introduction of a new Award
- 5. Eastern Regional Conference
- 6. Update on the meeting of the Board of Trustees
- 7. Any other matter with the permission of the chair

#### Minutes

The monthly meeting of the Executive Committee started at 11:00 AM on 6<sup>th</sup> October 2024 under the Chairpersonship of the President, IASP.

## **Item 1: Confirmation of the Minutes**

The General Secretary has presented the minutes of the EC meeting held on 01 September, which was circulated for comments from every member earlier and finalised. The members confirmed the minutes of the meeting,

## Item 2: Arrangements for the 45th Annual Conference

The President informed that a team from IASP had visited JNU to discuss the conference arrangements and had a detailed discussion with Dr Baswathi Das, the local organiser of the conference and her team. All the facilities including the guest house, the main venue and parallel session rooms are booked. JNU is also trying to mobilise funds as all facilities in the JNU are chargeable. They are contacting Unicef, ICSSR and IIPS for funds. The President said that in the next meeting of EC, Dr Baswati Das would also be invited to attend. The abstract submission is currently going on and the deadline for submission is the 15<sup>th</sup> of September. A small number of abstracts are already received on the website.

#### Item 3: Prof. KB Pathak Award

Several applications have been received for the Prof. KB Pathak Award and since the deadline is 20<sup>th</sup> October 2024, many more applications may also be received. Since the number of applications is high, there should be certain criteria to be introduced to shortlist the papers. There was a discussion on this in the meeting and it was decided to introduce membership in IASP as one of the criteria to shortlist the applications. The meeting has decided to introduce a two-tier evaluation of the submitted papers. A committee for shortlisting and one for the final evaluation of the shortlisted papers. The shortlisting committee is comprised of three members Dr Ajay, Dr Gudakesh and Dr Archana. The final evaluation will be done by a committee constituted by Dr Baswati Das, the local organiser of the conference.

### **Item 4: Introduction of a new Award**

The President has informed in the meeting of a proposal received from Prof PP Talwar, an eminent Demographer regarding the introduction of a new Award for women who work in the field of technical demography. As per the discussion of the President with Prof. Talwar, it was suggested that the award be given to women technical demographers who win the first two positions in the paper presentation at a session in the annual conference. Prof Talwar has agreed to donate Rs 300,000/- to IASP to keep it as an endowment, the interest of which will be utilised for the award. The meeting has agreed to the proposal and has decided to constitute the Prof. PP Talwar Award. The first round of the Prof. PP Talwar Award will happen this year as part of the annual conference at JNU. It was also decided to send out an announcement in this regard very soon.

#### **Item 5: Eastern Regional Conference**

About 60 papers were selected for presentation at the conference and after the deadline for registration about 40 of them registered for participation in the conference. Fifty people have sent travel requests. There are three plenary sessions and two technical presentation slots will be there at the conference. The population clock that has been recently installed in the University by the PRC will be inaugurated at 9:00 AM on 17<sup>th</sup> October 2024 and the inauguration of the conference will happen at 10:00 AM on the same day. The accommodation for the conference participants is arranged at the guesthouses of Utkal University, Doordarshan and ICMR. The food menu will be finalised by Dr Jeetendra Yadav in consultation with Dr Lisa from PRC. The conference kit and memento are being procured from Delhi. The President informed that along with the release of the Souvenir, a book written by Dr Sandhya Patra will be released.

#### Item 6: Update on the BoT meeting

The BoT meeting was held on 6<sup>th</sup> September at IEG, Delhi and the President and the Treasurer have updated on the discussions that happened during the meeting. The meeting has elected Prof. Sudesh Nangia as the Chairperson of the BoT. Dr Jeetendra Yadav, Treasurer of IASP will be the Secretary and Dr Rahul Kumar will be the Treasurer. The meeting has decided to suggest the President as a permanent nominee to the BoT. The President informed that there was a suggestion from the BoT meeting that the fixed deposits of IASP currently part of the EC account should be transferred to the BoT account. The EC meeting discussed this and decided not to transfer any funds to the BoT account.

#### Item 7: Any other item

The Prof Sudesh Nangia Essay Competition has to be conducted shortly. The meeting has entrusted the Coordinator Dr AG Khan to work on this and make necessary arrangements for conducting the competition.

